Herriot Melhuish O’Neill Architects - Wellington, Christchurch, Auckland, Tauranga

Social Housing & Public Architecture. HMOA Wins Two Architecture Awards

May 10, 2021

Back to news

It was two out of two for HMOA at the 2021 NZIA Wellington Architecture Awards held on 6 May at the Embassy Theatre.

Congratulations to all the winners featured on the NZ Institute of Architects, Architecture Now and on Stuff.

te awe library website6

Te Awe Library for Wellington City Council

HMOA’s interior designer Karin Thurston’s skills were also apparent in the second award-winning project, Te Awe Library on the ground floor of the Harbour City Centre.

te awe library website4

Te Awe took out an award for Public Architecture with the judges commenting, "... the architect deployed a design strategy to craft a public space that is generous in both spatial experience and quality".

"Te Awe Library is a welcoming public space for the community to make its own, whether as a living room, a study area, or a place to simply pause".

When accepting the award for Housing: Multi-Unit House for Kāinga Ora Hanson St Apartments, HMOA Director John Melhuish acknowledged the work of Project Architect Karl Wipatane. Watch a video with Karl discussing this project. 

Hanson St Apartments Wellington 5

Hanson St social housing for Kāinga Ora. Photo: Andy Spain

"This is a building that should give Kāinga Ora the confidence to create more of this desperately required density of housing," NZIA jury comment.

Wellington apartments Hanson St 2528

Hanson St Apartment deck. Photo: Francis Lim

"Locating the building close to the street allows space for new communal garden spaces, as well as admitting maximum sunlight into homes and outdoor areas. The shared rear garden also provides a communal drying room that has quickly been claimed by the residents as a shared social space," Awards Jury.

An artist studio for HMOA's Graphic Designer, Jacqui Colley, was also celebrated with an award for Small Project Architecture. Colley Studio was designed by Tse: Wallace Architects.

Colley studio

Colley studio 1

The jury for the 2021 Wellington Architecture Awards was led by Andrew Sexton (Andrew Sexton Architecture) with Meiling Honson (Jasmax), Rodney Sampson (Warren & Mahoney), Mary Daish (Mary Daish Architect) and Nick Bevin (Nick Bevin Architect).